Dinner is Served: Crockpot Cheesy Chicken, Broccoli & Rice

I LOVE to cook. I love to experiement with new recipes. I love chopping vegetables and sauteeing. Wilting. Caramalizing. I love standing over the stove, throwing a bunch of ingredients together and creating magic! But, I don’t have time to do that now. Cue my crockpot.

I have never liked my crockpot. First of all, I prefer to cook on  the stove, like God intended. Secondly, I’m afraid to leave the house if it’s on. (Yes, you may discuss my craziness with my husband) Thirdly, it just seems like every recipe that get’s dumped into a crockpot is full of processed crap: “cream of” soups, and unholy orange “cheese product”. I can’t cook like that! I mean, my husband has to BEG for hamburger helper. (Seriously, I can make it FOR REAL in 10 minutes with REAL ingredients, WTF?)

But… I’m a mother. To a 5 month old. And my husband works ten-jillion hours a week so I’m pretty much on my own most dinner-times. Which means I have no-one to pass the baby to. Yeah. Seems he isn’t down on me chopping up a ton of vegetables, then standing over a stove for an hour. Go figure! So, I decided that, for the love of my child, I would try and see if I could create some decent meals in my dreaded crockpot using {gasp!} real ingredients. This way, I can chop up the ingredients, nurse him, come back and throw everything in the crockpot and I’m pretty much done.

I must say, this one turned out fantastic! It’s not going to win any visual prizes as the broccoli doesn’t keep its vibrant green color, but the taste more than makes up for it. Sprinkle the bowl with crushed buttery crackers and a little bit more cheddar cheese and no one will even notice!

Toddler approved!

Be sure to check back for more wholesome (ie, not preservative or artificial color filled)crockpot recipes!

Crockpot Cheesy Chicken, broccoli & Rice

  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, diced
  • 8 cups broccoli, separated into bite-size florets
  • 8 oz package of mushrooms, sliced
  • 4 peices of chicken – I use bonelss thighs, but you can use whatever you prefer
  • 1 1/2 cups milk, with 2 tsp of chicken base stirred in
  • 8 oz of cheddar, shredded
  • 4 oz of cream cheese
  • 1 tsp mustard powder
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 cups cookied rice

Place the onion, garlic, broccoli, mushrooms, salt, pepper, mustard powder, cheddar and cream cheese into the crockpot, and stir to combine. Nestle the chicken into the mixture, put the lid on and cook the mixture for about 6 hours on low or 3 hours on high. You can let it cook longer. About an hour or two before you are ready to eat, take out the chicken and shred it. Return to the pot with in the rice and let cook an hour or two more. This is good sprinkled with crushed buttery crackers, but I didn’t have any when I made it so I left it off. The crackers do add a nice buttery crunch!

Leave a Reply

