Has It REALLY Been 7 Months???

I refuse to beleive that it’s been 7 months. I also refuse to believe that Holden has gotten as big as he has! I looked at our near-future milestones: saying “mama” and waving, being able to pull himself up to standing… and I’m not gonna lie to you, I teared up. It’s not that I don’t want him to grow up, I do! I just feel like it’s all going so fast! I know one day I’m gonna blink and he’s gonna be his own little person!

What’s New?

He’s just gotten 2 new teeth!!! Can you beleive it?!? The evening we got home from the cabin (you know, the night where I ill-fatedly drank a bottle of cotton-candy flavoured acetaminophen?) I swore I felt something in his mouth. “give me a flashlight!!” I screamed repeatedly to Rob and refused to respond to any of his frustrated questioning until I had acheived my goal: visual of a new, sharp-and-serated-as-a-steak-knife toofie! Luckily, only a moderate amount of wine had been consumed so Daddy was able to run to the drug store and pick up some new pain meds. And, a couple of days later, a second one popped through!!

Of course, since he’s started teething, he has stopping sleeping through the night. He now wakes up about every 2 hours. It’s not too bad, since he’s usually in bed with me. I just hook him up and then I can go back to sleep! He still is not a great napper – he’ll usually only take a 30 minute nap while I’m wishing for 2 hours – Mama’s got laundry to do – but I’m hopeful that he’ll start napping better soon.

He can crawl [backwards] all around now!! And it’s funny. When I’m watching him or playing with him he’s as slow as a snail, but if I run into the other room or turn away for 3 minutes, he’s across the room in no time flat! I think probably he’s trying to protect Mama from being sad at how fast he’s growing up! 😉 He get’s so frustrated that he can’t go forwards, especially when there’s a toy that he wants to get to, it’s hilarious. He smacks his hands and screws up his face and screams! Well, the screaming part ain’t so cute…

He can stand on his own while holding onto something! When I discovered this a couple of weeks ago… it blew my mind. I may or may not have teared up. Now, it’s one of his favorite things to do!

We’ve also started him on a sippy cup, but it’s far from mastered! He gets breastmilk in it, and he has sucked out of it a handful of times but he more just likes to bang it around. Or, you know, throw it at one of the cats! 🙂

I can’t wait to see what this month has in store for us!

2 thoughts on “Has It REALLY Been 7 Months???

Leave a Reply

