I love applesauce! I love the flavor, I love the texture, and I love how versatile it is: is it a breakfast or a snack or a side or a dessert?!  I also really love that Toddler  H will eat it! He will actually eat raw apples as well… well, he chews them up, sucks the juice out and then spits out the pulp. I guess the texture is too hard for him? But he gobbles this applesauce right up! He doesn’t even want to use a spoon he’s so hell-bent on shoveling it into his mouth! And since there’s no sugar in this recipe… that’s a good thing!

The apples for this applesauce came from our apple picking trip. This is actually the second batch of crockpot applesauce I’ve made with them! (We picked around 15 lbs!) You can use whatever kind of apple you want depending on what type of applesauce you want. If you want tart, use granny smith. If you want it sweeter, use a fuji or a gala. We picked a variety, so I’m not sure exactly what went into mine but I think it was mainly ambrosias & jona golds. Possibly. Or not! I love to leave the sauce chunky, but if you prefer it smoother, by all means dump it in a blender and whiz away. Also, I like my applesauce heavily cinnamonny-& clove-y. If that’s not your bag, leave out altogether or tone it down to fit your tastes. You can always add more at the end, but you can’t take away!

Toddler H helped by pulling out the pots and pans. And filling them with dog food.

I love this applesauce warm on its own, cold mixed into plain yogurt, and I also use it as a filling for hand pies. I’m sure there are a million more ways to use it, too! You can also freeze or can it, but even a huge batch like this never lasts long at my house!

Easy Crockpot Applesauce

  • 12 cups of apples (about 18-20 small apples), peeled, cored, and cut into quarters or eighths
  • 2 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • few dashes ground cloves
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  1. Dump everything in the crockpot and cook on low for 8+ hours. (Trust me: you don’t need any water, the apples have plenty – and nobody likes watery applesauce! Oh, you do? Well, then dump in 1/4 cup of water then!)  When they’re soft enough, mash with a fork/potato masher to the consistency you prefer. Taste for seasoning and adjust if needed.
  2. Try to not make yourself sick shoveling spoonfuls repeat
    edly into your mouth.

Be sure to check back next week when I check off another item on my Fall 2012 Bucket List and post the recipe for my apple “cup-pies” and hand pies!

Leave a Reply

